#0021 Healthy body, healthy country, healthy storytelling


 The Black Female Narrative is supported by you. When you purchase through links in our email or on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. We only endorse products and services we believe in.

Hey loved ones,

I’ve decided to try a new format this edition. I’ll pick the top three news items that have struck me across the week and highlight them below. Reply to this email and let me know if the new approach works for you.

Copyright: Madison Inouye

HEALTH CHECK

This week I have been tired. I think we can underestimate how much we put our bodies through on a day-to-day basis. I’m mentally juggling a lot: from parenting to work to self care. Addressing my health has been something I’ve been actively avoiding for a while but I suspect the universe has a sense of humour.

You know how Aunty O (more commonly known as Oprah to the rest of the world) talks to us about how the universe sends messages? Gently at first, then a little louder still then, finally, like a ton of bricks if you’re particularly hard of hearing? Well, the universe got creative with me and sent its message in a format it knew I wouldn’t resist: a 5ft 11 Ghanaian man with the initials MOT. Touché, Uni, touché.

So I’ve started walking more - enjoying the greenery in South East London - , exploring somatic yoga sessions on YouTube, incorporating meditation into my day and started listening to all those who said that multivitamins should be a staple. I came across this quiz on the Boots website that asks you lifestyle questions before recommending a bundle of vitamins for you. Now I’ve always felt that Boots and Holland and Barrett were quite expensive brands but I really you can’t put a price on health. The quiz identified what I needed to tackle stress, general well-being and hair and skin. I’m looking forward to testing them out to see if I feel any improvements. Let me know how you choose the vitamins that suit you.

Copyright: Tara Winstead

THE FINAL COUNTDOWN

Imagine, we are literally days away from the General Election which takes place on Thursday 4 July. The publicity around this election has been particularly intense with BBC and ITV hosting debates and Channel 4 running ads encouraging people not to be ‘lazy’ and to go vote. I mentioned previously that I’d be interested in hearing what each party intends to do for Black women. Elle Magazine recently did a round up of the talking points each political party are standing on when it comes to women.

Right now it feels like the priority is figuring out who is the lesser of all the evils are when it comes to picking our next government. No matter your political views, I hope you do take time out on Thursday to hit the ballot boxes. I liked comedian Munya Chawawa’s take on why you should take the plunge and vote in a four-part series called Electile Dysfunction. Check out episodes one, two, three and four on Instagram.

Copyright: Netflix

HAVE YOU SEEN SUPACELL YET?

Unless you’ve been under a rock, your timeline may have been swamped with promo for a new Black-led sci-fi drama called Supacell. The synopsis as per IMDB is a group of ordinary people from South London unexpectedly develop super powers with no clear connection between them other than them all being Black. As they deal with the impact on their daily lives, one man has to bring them together to protect the one he loves all while avoiding the powerful and nefarious agents that have noticed their special abilities.

What I didn’t know is that the individual’s superpowers are actually as a result of their sickle cell. Having worked on a campaign that shows how little was known about sickle cell in this country and the advancements in treatment since then it’s an interesting point of focus. You can learn more about the history of sickle cell in this country on the Black Cultural Archives’ exhibition site.

I love how excited people have been to embrace this series, applauding series creator Rapman for bringing a new Black narrative to our screens. However, I wanted to highlight director, writer and producer Sheila Nortley who was an integral part of the production team. An associate producer and producer on the show, Sheila’s list of credits are extensive including Netflix’s Stay Close. Having watched Sheila’s trajectory for a number of years it’s exciting seeing a Black British woman build a career that could make her our equivalent of Shona Rhymes (Bridgestone/ Grey’s Anatomy/Scandal/How To Get Away With Murder) or Ava Duvernay (Selma/Origin/13th). You can learn more about Sheila in her recent interview with the publication Violet Simon. You can catch Supacell on Netflix now.

Juanita Rosenior, Founder and Editor in Chief, The Black Female Narrative

GOT A STORY YOU THINK SHOULD BE FEATURED IN A FUTURE EDITION OF THE BLACK FEMALE NARRATIVE? Email us at hello@theblackfemalenarrative.com. Make sure you subscribe to get the next edition in your inbox every Monday and follow us on Instagram and Facebook.